Forward this Page to a Friend
Dans ce numéro :
La route des vins d'Alsace !
Où est-ce en France?

Un emplacement géographique exceptionnel
l’Alsace bénéficie d’un micro-climat qui en fait la région viticole la plus sèche de France...

Inscrivez-vous à cette lettre
Vous recevrez chaque mois par email une nouvelle lettre sur une région de France !

Les tonneaux deviennent des oeuvres d’art !
Personnalisé, sculpté avec des décors rappelant souvent la mythologie gréco-latine, il était traditionnellement offert en cadeau de noces...

Le gourmetage
Ces tractations se faisaient selon des règles très strictes et sous l’œil vigilant du seul intermédiaire habilité : le gourmet, sorte de courtier-jaugeur...
La Renaissance des vins d’Alsace
Autrefois, pour prétendre que la couleur verdâtre du vin obtenu venait du verre et non du vin, ils imaginèrent de le verser dans un verre à pied de couleur verte...
Sept cépages nobles pour mille arômes
Tous les vins d'Alsace ont pour particularité de se boire frais... et gardent l’appellation du cépage dont ils proviennent...
Envoyer cette lettre à vos amis
Partagez ce site Web non-commercial avec ceux qui vous sont chers et faites-les rêver !


Route des vins d'Alsace France

onjour ! Nous avons décidé de vous faire découvrir une magnifique région de France située à quatre cents cinquante kilomètres à l’est de Paris. Elle enthousiasmera non seulement les amateurs de vins et de cuisine exceptionnelle mais également tous ceux qui aiment de la France l'aspect pittoresque des villages en fleurs et ses châteaux médiévaux : la route des vins d’Alsace et ses deux millénaires d’Histoire agitée.

Route des vins d'Alsace France
Route des vins d'Alsace France

La région aux "Mille Villages"

Probablement moins connu que le vignoble bordelais ou bourguignon, le vignoble alsacien est pourtant un des plus anciens de France. L’appellation « Route des Vins d’Alsace », quant à elle, n’existe que depuis cinquante ans. Elle a été créée par des vignerons amoureux de leur vignoble et soucieux de lui redonner ses lettres de noblesse, après qu’il eût souffert durant des siècles. Cette route est devenue aujourd’hui un véritable enchantement pour les yeux et les vins qu’elle offre sont un régal pour le palais. Les connaisseurs ne s’y trompent pas et les visiteurs - immédiatement séduits par la beauté des villages qui la bordent, par la perfection des vins nés sur ses flancs et par la gentillesse des Alsaciens qui l’habitent - comprennent que la région mérite sans hésitation une visite de quelques jours. Long ruban multicolore et pittoresque, cerné de vignobles perchés fièrement sur leurs échalas, la route des vins s’étire entre la montagne des Vosges et le Rhin, sur une distance de cent soixante dix kilomètres de Thann (ville au nord-ouest de Mulhouse) à Marlenheim (ville au nord-ouest de Strasbourg). Cette route, très agréable à parcourir, est parsemée d’une centaine de villages, tous plus charmants les uns que les autres... villages au charme si particulier qu’ils valurent à cette partie de la France la dénomination de région aux « Mille Villages ».

Une histoire douloureuse

L’apparition de la vigne en Alsace date de bien avant la naissance de Jules César même si ce sont les Romains qui en ont perfectionné sa culture vers le IIIème siècle de notre ère en offrant ainsi la prospérité à cette région grâce à leur savoir-faire viticole. Par la suite, les abbayes et les églises qui ont reçu de nombreuses vignes en donation se sont partagées jusqu’à la Révolution Française le droit de pratiquer la viticulture avec les seigneurs. Au Moyen-âge, le vin d’Alsace était considéré comme le meilleur vin d’Europe. Bien entendu, à l’époque, les goûts des consommateurs n’étaient pas forcément très raffinés. Ainsi, on n’hésitait pas à mélanger différents cépages pour obtenir des vins qui de nos jours seraient considérés comme assez médiocres. Néanmoins les vins d’Alsace s’exportaient très bien et la consommation locale apportait la richesse à la région. Malheureusement la terrible guerre de Trente Ans, les guerres séculaires qui vont suivre, les invasions et les maladies vont apporter leurs lots de destruction, de souffrances et il faudra attendre le début du XXème siècle pour que le vignoble alsacien renaisse de ses cendres puis la fin de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale pour qu’il atteigne la perfection dont il peut fièrement se prévaloir aujourd’hui.

Recette pour septembre 2004
Le Kugelhopf

Le fameux gâteau alsacien !
Temps de préparation: 60 minutes
Pour 8 personnes
Cliquez ici pour lire la recette du "Kugelhopf" en anglais.
Cliquez ici pour lire la recette du "Kugelhopf" en français.
SOS en cuisine ! Si vous avez des problèmes pour préparer cette recette, adressez un SOS par e-mail à 911@FranceMonthly.com
Lire cette lettre d'information en anglais !
Téléchargez nos fonds d'écran.
S'abonner à cette publication
L'histoire de France Monthly
Un emplacement géographique exceptionnel
Si le cours de l’Histoire a longtemps été défavorable à l’Alsace, sa situation géographique a, dès l’origine, constitué un atout majeur : éloignée de toute influence maritime et protégée par les Vosges, l’Alsace bénéficie d’un micro-climat qui en fait la région viticole la plus sèche de France. En été, la chaleur est suffisante pour assurer une lente maturation des raisins qui résistent pourtant, sans problème, au froid rigoureux de l'hiver. La vigne, en Alsace, contrairement aux vignobles du sud de la France, est toutefois maintenu à une certaine hauteur au dessus du sol afin de capturer plus de soleil et d’être protégé des gelées blanches. De plus, la géologie de la région offre une véritable mosaïque des sols : roches volcaniques, calcaires, débris de granites ou de schistes. Une multitude de sols qui acceptent une multitude de cépages différents offrant, grâce à l’expérience des vignerons, une variété de vins plus ou moins fruités mais... tous délicieux et d’une qualité exceptionnelle.
Hotel Le Mandelberg in Mittelwihr in Alsace

Inscrivez-vous à cette lettre d'information

Inscrivez-vous à cette lettre d'information mensuelle. Chaque mois, vous recevrez gratuitement une nouvelle lettre sur une région de France et vous re-découvrirez son histoire ainsi que les meilleurs endroits à visiter. Nous nous engageons à ne jamais vendre votre adresse email. Cliquez sur l'image ci-dessous pour vous inscrire.


Les tonneaux deviennent des oeuvres d’art
Si les Romains ont perfectionné la culture de la vigne, les Gaulois peuvent s’enorgueillir d’être à l’origine de son transport et de sa bonne conservation : habiles artisans, on leur attribue la fabrication des tonneaux qui très vite remplacèrent les amphores romaines. De forme arrondie, ils sont beaucoup plus faciles à faire rouler et donc, plus faciles à déplacer. Si la culture du raisin exige des soins tout particuliers, le stockage du vin est tout aussi important. La cave devient l’autre lieu de vie du vigneron et le tonneau se transforme en écrin de vins fins et nobles. Fabriqué en bois de chêne - bois résistant et vivant - le tonneau favorise la maturation et l’épanouissement du vin, à l’abri de l’air et de la lumière. Au Moyen-âge, il est « l’image de marque » du vigneron. Personnalisé, sculpté avec des décors rappelant souvent la mythologie gréco-latine, il est traditionnellement offert en cadeau de noces. Les styles varient avec les époques mais on retrouve souvent le thème de la mer avec des dauphins, des baleines, des sirènes et même des monstres marins. Le verrou qui ferme la petite porte de nettoyage du fût représente souvent une sirène, symbole de la séduction et de la fécondité. Le tonneau devient oeuvre d’art tant par son aspect extérieur que par le trésor qu’il renferme. Les tonneaux entreposés dans les caves des vignerons de la Route du Vin figurent ainsi parmi les plus beaux tonneaux de France. Si vous allez à Eguisheim, n'oubliez pas de visiter les caves de la maison Emile Beyer pour voir ses magnifiques tonneaux et goûter son vin délicieux.
Tonneau du Restaurant Le Fer Rouge a Colmar

Envoyez cet article à vos amis

Partagez la lecture de ce site Internet avec vos amis en cliquant sur l'image ci-dessous. Vos correspondants recevront le lien vers cette page Web.


Le gourmetage
Eguisheim Alsace France
Au Moyen-âge, le mode de vente des vins était très différent de ce qu’il est aujourd’hui. Seules les personnes propriétaires de vignes pouvaient vendre leur vin car il n’y avait pas d’intermédiaires marchands. De novembre à janvier, durant la Wielada, soit le propriétaire se déplaçait soit le client venait jusqu’au vignoble de son choix pour goûter, acheter le vin et repartir avec sa cargaison. Mais ces tractations se faisaient selon des règles très strictes et sous l’œil vigilant du seul intermédiaire habilité : le gourmet, sorte de courtier-jaugeur. Cette personne prêtait serment de vendre le vin au mieux des intérêts des viticulteurs et des propriétaires mais surtout au mieux des intérêts de la municipalité qui, bien entendu, percevait une taxe sur la vente des vins. Le gourmet faisait goûter les vins et apportait ses commentaires d’expert. Personnage respecté et craint tout à la fois, il veillait à ce que les vins ne soient pas trafiqués ou mélangés et donnaient des amendes aux contrevenants qui ne respectaient pas les règles.
La Renaissance des vins d’Alsace
Il est impossible de parler des vins d’Alsace sans évoquer les vicissitudes de l’Histoire et des guerres qui ont déchiré cette région tant la renaissance et l’excellence de ce nectar que l’on connaît aujourd’hui sont intimement liées aux quatre derniers siècles de souffrance et de destruction. Entre 1870 et 1945, déchirée et écartelée entre la France et l’Allemagne, l’Alsace a vu, à quatre reprises se redessiner ses frontières. Même si, dès le XVème siècle, le terme de « cépage noble » fait son apparition, les vignerons cultivent essentiellement des cépages tout à fait ordinaires pour obtenir des vins plutôt médiocres. Nécessité financière faisant loi, ils privilégient la quantité à la qualité et mélangent souvent maladroitement les cépages. Aussi, pour prétendre que la couleur verdâtre de l’étrange breuvage ainsi obtenu venait du verre et non du vin, ils imaginèrent de le verser dans un verre à pied de couleur verte ! Ce même vert qui est encore aujourd’hui la couleur traditionnelle, de ces si beaux verres à vin d’Alsace... Au début du XXème siècle, face à la concurrence des vins d’autres régions et à la bière, les viticulteurs alsaciens décidèrent de réagir. Ils se regroupèrent pour moderniser le vignoble alsacien, pour réduire la superficie de la vigne afin de ne cultiver que des cépages nobles et privilégièrent dès lors et avant tout la qualité.
Sept cépages nobles pour mille arômes
Ribeauvillé Route des vins d'Alsace France Grâce à leur ténacité, à leurs efforts et à l’amour de leur terre, les vignerons alsaciens ont pris une belle revanche sur le passé. A juste raison, ils sont aujourd’hui fiers de leurs vins, répartis en sept cépages. Le Muscat est le plus ancien et donne un vin blanc fruité au caractère sec qui le distingue des muscats doux méridionaux. Le Riesling, un vin blanc et sec, délicatement fruité accompagne à merveille les poissons et la vraie choucroute alsacienne. Le Pinot Blanc est tendre et délicat; le Tokay, un vin alsacien et non pas un vin rapporté de la lointaine Hongrie comme la légende le prétend est à déguster avec du foie gras; le Sylvaner, frais et léger, s’associe à merveille avec du poisson et de la charcuterie; le Gewurztraminer, corsé et charpenté, est parfait en apéritif ou pour accompagner un dessert. Le Pinot Noir enfin, seul cépage en Alsace à produire un vin rouge ou rosé, est particulièrement indiqué pour souligner la saveur d’une viande rouge ou d’un fromage de chèvre. Tous ces vins ont pour particularité de se boire frais. Attention ! Contrairement aux autres vins français qui portent le nom du lieu ou du château où ils sont cultivés, les vins d’Alsace gardent l’appellation du cépage dont ils proviennent (à l’instar des vins californiens, par exemple).
Invitation au voyage
Parcourir la « Route des Vins d’Alsace », région étonnante, riche et généreuse vous vaudra de découvrir cent soixante dix kilomètres de véritable bonheur... vous longerez des vignes à flanc de coteaux, haut perchées sur leurs échalas et prometteuses du nectar le plus extra; vous traverserez des villages pittoresques et accueillants blottis au pied des Vosges où il fait bon flâner; vous croiserez les ruines de fiers châteaux du Moyen-âge, paisibles gardiens de la campagne environnante; vous visiterez des caves à la rencontre de vignerons passionnés par leur métier et dégusterez des crus parmi les meilleurs... avec modération. Deux à trois jours sont nécessaires en voiture pour visiter la route des vins d’Alsace et pour ramener des souvenirs inoubliables de vos vacances en Alsace.

 
 
 
© 2000-2005 FranceMonthly.com All rights reserved. (888) 793-9200

Alsace Wine Route | Montsegur | City Of Light | Marseilles France - Lisle France - Information On France | Castle Of Versailles - Versailles Palace - Palace Of Versailles France | Monaco France - Monte Carlo France - South France Tourism - France Tourism | Monte Carlo - Tourism Northern France | Montecarlo | The Famous Bordeaux Wines | Bridge Of Paris - France Paris Travel - Paris France Hotel | French Riviera - South France Tourism - Travel France | Nice France | Travel France

Forward this Page to a Friend
Alsace Wine Trail France
In this issue:
The Alsace Wine Route!
France Vacation

An Exceptional Geographical Location
Alsace benefits from a microclimate, which makes it the driest wine area of France...

Subscribe to the Newsletter
Sign up for a newsletter that will intoduce you to a new region of France every month!

The Barrels Become Works of Art
Personalized, carved with decorations often recalling Greco-Latin mythology, it was traditionally offered as a wedding gift...

The “Gourmetage”
Negotiations were conducted according to very strict rules and under the vigilant eye of the only skilled intermediary: “the gourmet”, a type of estimator-broker...
The Rebirth of the Wines of Alsace To claim that the greenish color of the strange beverage thus obtained came from the glass and not from the wine, they poured it into a green colored stemmed glass...
Seven Noble Types of Grape for a Thousand Flavors!
All these wines are to be served cold...And keep the name of the grapes from which they come...
Forward this Newsletter
Forward this newsletter to your friends and make them dream about "la Belle France".

Alsace Wine Trail France

Alsace Wine Trail France onjour ! This month, we would like to help you discover a magnificent area of France located four hundred and fifty kilometers (280 miles) east of Paris. Not only will amateurs of wines and food be enthusiastic, but also those who enjoy France's picturesque flower-decked villages and its medieval castles: Alsace's Wine Route and the two millenniums of its agitated history.
But before continuing, please remember that you can access and read all the newsletters already published at www.FranceMonthly.com and receive our free monthly newsletter through email: just subscribe at www.FranceMonthly.com. We commit to NEVER sell your email address to another company.


The Alsace Wine Route
Alsace Wine Trail France

The Region of the "Thousand Villages"

Probably less known than the vineyards of Bordeaux or Burgundy, the vineyards of Alsace are among the oldest in France. As for the name "Alsace Wine Route", it has existed for only the past fifty years. It was created by the region's wine growers in love with their vineyard and concerned, after centuries of suffering, with regaining its letters of nobility. Today, this road has become a real enchantment to the eye and the wines it offers are a treat to the palate. The experts are not mistaken and the visitors - immediately enticed by the beauty of the villages that border it, by the perfection of the wines born on its slopes, and by the kindness of Alsatians who live here – all understand that the area unquestionably deserves a visit of a few days. A long multicolored and picturesque ribbon, bordered by vines perched proudly on their supports the wine trail stretches between the mountains of the Vosges and the Rhine River, a distance of one hundred and seventy kilometers, from Thann (city North-West of Mulhouse) to Marlenheim (city North-West of Strasbourg). This route, very pleasant to travel, is strewn with villages that closely number one hundred, each seemingly more charming than the next... villages with such special appeal that they earn for this region of France the title of the "Thousand Villages".

A Painful History

The appearance of the vine in Alsace goes back to well before the birth of Julius Caesar even if it is the Romans who improved its cultivation during the third century thus offering prosperity to the region thanks to their wine expertise. Thereafter, the abbeys and the churches that received many vines in donation shared, with the lords, the right to practice vine growing until the French Revolution. During the Middle Ages, the wine of Alsace was regarded as the best in Europe. Of course, at the time, the tastes of the consumers were not necessarily very refined. Thus, one did not hesitate to mix various types of grape to obtain wines that nowadays would be rated as rather poor. Nevertheless, Alsatian wines exported very well and local consumption brought riches to the area. Unfortunately, the terrible Thirty Years War, the centuries of war that followed, the invasions and the diseases brought about much destruction and suffering. It would be necessary to await the beginning of the twentieth century for the Alsatian vineyards to be reborn from their ashes, and the end of the Second World War for them to reach the perfection they can proudly boast today.

Alsace Wine Road France
Recipe for September 2004
The Kugelhopf, an Alsatian Cake Alsace Wine Route France
Kugelhopf, The Alsatian Cake
The Famous Alsatian Cake
Preparation Time: 50 minutes
8 Servings
Click here to read the "Kugelhopf, The Alsatian Cake" Recipe in English.
Click here to read the "Kugelhopf, The Alsatian Cake" Recipe in French.
Cooking SOS ! If you run into trouble with one of our recipes, send an SOS e-mail to 911@FranceMonthly.com
Alsace Wine Trail France Read this newsletter in French!
Alsace Wine Trail France Download our Wallpapers.
Alsace Wine Trail France Subscribe to this newsletter.
Alsace Wine Trail France Learn more about France Monthly
An Exceptional Geographical Location
If the course of history was long and unfavorable to Alsace, its geographical location, has, right from the start, constituted a major asset: distant from any maritime influence and protected by the Vosges, Alsace benefits from a microclimate, which makes it the driest wine area of France. In the summer, there is sufficient heat to ensure a slow maturation of the grapes, and these same grapes are also able, without any problems, to resist the rigorous cold of winter. The vine in Alsace, in contrast with the vineyards of the south of France, is maintained at a certain height above the ground in order to capture more sun and to be protected from the hoar frosts. Moreover, the geology of the area offers a true mosaic of soils: volcanic rocks, limestone, remains of granites or schist. A multitude of soils that accept different types of vines, offering, thanks to the expertise of the wine growers, a variety of more or less fruity wines... all delicious and of an exceptional quality.

Hotel Le Mandelberg in Mittelwihr in Alsace, France

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Subscribe to this monthly newsletter. Every month brings you to a new and wonderful area of France with unique stories and insights into its history and best areas to visit. We commit to NEVER sell your email address to another company. Click on the image below.


The Barrels Become Works of Art
If the Romans improved the culture of the vine, the Gauls can be proud to be the originators of its methods of transport and of its good conservation: skillful artisans, they were allotted the manufacture of the barrels, which very quickly replaced the Roman amphorae. Round in shape, they were much easier to roll and therefore easier to move. If the harvest of the grape requires very particular care, the storage of the wine is just as important. The cellar becomes the other home of the wine grower and the barrel is transformed into a jewel-box for the fine and noble wine. Made of oak – a resistant and green wood - the barrel favors the maturing and the development of the wine protected from air and light. In the Middle Ages, the barrel was the trademark of the wine grower. Personalized, carved with decorations often recalling Greco-Latin mythology, it was traditionally offered as a wedding gift. The styles vary with the times but one often finds marine themes with dolphins, whales, mermaids and even sea monsters. The bolt which closes the small door permitting the cleaning of the barrel often represents a mermaid, the symbol of seduction and fertility. The barrel becomes a work of art as much by its appearance as by the treasure it contains. The barrels stored in the cellars of the wine growers along the Alsace Wine Road are among the finest in France. If you go to Eguisheim, be sure to make a stop at Emile Beyer's cellar to see its impressive barrels and taste their wonderful wine.
Barrel at restaurant Le Fer Rouge in Colmar

Forward this Newsletter

Share the information on this region of France with a friend by clicking on the image below.

 

Alsace Wine Trail France The “Gourmetage”
Eguisheim Alsace Wine Trail France
During the Middle Ages, the sale of wines was very different from what it is today. Only the owners of the vineyards could sell their wine because there were no commercial intermediaries. From November to January, the owners traveled to the customers, or the client came to the vineyard in order to taste, buy the wine and then set off with his chosen cargo. Nevertheless, these negotiations were conducted according to very strict rules and under the vigilant eye of the only skilled intermediary: “the gourmet”, a type of estimator-broker. This person, under oath, was to sell the wine in the best possible interests of the wine growers and the owners but above all of the municipality, which of course levied a tax on the sale of the wines. The gourmet had the wines tasted and expertly commented on them. Respected yet feared, he made certain the wines were not adulterated or mixed and allotted fines to the offenders who did not comply with the rules.

Would you like to read more about France? Click here.
The Rebirth of the Wines of Alsace
It is impossible to speak about the wines of Alsace without evoking the vicissitudes of its history and of the wars that tore this area apart years ago. The rebirth of the wines of Alsace and the excellence of its nectar as we know it today are closely linked to the last four centuries of suffering and destruction. Between 1870 and 1945, torn apart and partitioned between France and Germany, Alsace saw its borders redrawn four different times. Even if, as early as the fifteenth century, the term "noble wine" makes its appearance, the wine growers cultivated primarily a very ordinary grape to obtain rather poor wines. Financially needy, they often settled for quantity rather than quality and often ineptly mixed various types of grape. In addition, so as to claim that the greenish color of the strange beverage thus obtained came from the glass and not from the wine, they poured it into a green colored stemmed glass - that same green that is still today the traditional color of the very beautiful wine glasses of Alsace...! At the beginning of the twentieth century, facing competition from the wines of other areas and from beer, the Alsatian wine growers decided to react. They banded together to modernize the Alsatian vineyards, to reduce their surface in order to cultivate only noble types of grape and from then on gave preference above all to quality.
Seven Noble Types of Grape for a Thousand Flavors!
Ribeauville Alsace Wine Trail France Thanks to their tenacity, their efforts and the love of their land, the Alsatian wine growers enjoyed a sweet revenge on the past. With just cause, they are today proud of their wines, separated into seven types of grape. The Muscat grape is the oldest and gives a fruity white wine with a dry character that distinguishes it from the sweeter wines of the south. The Riesling, a white, dry wine, delicately fruity wonderfully accompanies fish and true Alsatian sauerkraut. The Pinot Blanc is tender and delicate; Tokay, an Alsatian wine and not the one brought back from remote Hungary as the legend claims, is to be tasted with foie gras; the fresh and light Sylvaner marvellously accompanies fish and pork meats; the Gewurztraminer, vigorous and robust, is perfect as an aperitif or to accompany a dessert. Finally, the Black Pinot, the only grape in Alsace to produce a red or rosy wine, is particularly indicated to underline the savor of red meat or goat's cheese. All these wines are to be served cold. Caution! Contrary to the other French wines which bear the name of the place or the castle where they are cultivated, the wines of Alsace keep the name of the grapes from which they come (following the example of Californian wines, for example).
Invitation to Travel
To travel the "Alsace Wine Route", an astonishing region, rich and generous, will be a rewarding one hundred and seventy kilometers of true happiness. You will skirt hillside vineyards, perched high on their props and promising the best nectar; you will pass through picturesque and welcoming villages nestled at the foot of the Vosges inviting one to stroll; you will cross the ruins of proud castles of the Middle Ages, peacefully guarding the surrounding countryside; you will visit the cellars of the wine growers passioned by their trade and you will taste the best vintages... in moderation. Two to three days are a necessity to travel the Alsace Wine Route by car and to bring back unforgettable memories of your holidays there.



 
Alsace Wine Trail France
 
 
© 2000-2006 FranceMonthly.com - All rights reserved.

Alsace Wine Route | Montsegur | City Of Light | Marseilles France - Lisle France - Information On France | Castle Of Versailles - Versailles Palace - Palace Of Versailles France | Monaco France - Monte Carlo France - South France Tourism - France Tourism | Monte Carlo - Tourism Northern France | Montecarlo | The Famous Bordeaux Wines | Bridge Of Paris - France Paris Travel - Paris France Hotel | French Riviera - South France Tourism - Travel France | Nice France | Travel France